Birch Stain Problem

docfletcher

Greetings, newbie here, and to staining woods of any sort. New bow window installed. Seat and headboards furniture grade birch plywood. I used Minwax wood conditioner on the seat then proceded to stain with Minwax Gel stain antique maple. It looks nice except for a very light roundish area that is not taking stain.. Two days later I put a 2nd coat hoping the area would darken. It did not and became what seemed even lighter. I tried blending the gel stain into the spot to make it darker and more in tone, without success. So I got out the Turpentine and washed off as much of the stain on the whole seat board as I could. So now I'm back down to the first stain coat.

I did try to sand the area with 220 grit, and staining the area again. It did not help. So now I'm stuck. I'm thinking of sanding with a courser grit, like 180 to open up the grain to take stain. I think the veneer is thick enough to take one more sanding. I'd appreciate any advice you give. Thanks.