Topic of a new French Rookie

Brainkite

Hi everyone,

I'm an all new architect since i've graduated 2 weeks ago, I'm all new to woodworking, but not new to handworkin since i've made a lot of models during my studies. Including the use of cuttingknives wohoooo!!! (and bandsaws)

During my last year I've falled in love with the work of Gerrit Rietveld (you might know that guy):

CRI_7569.jpgzigzag01.jpg

21buffet_1919repro.jpg

Since I knew that me and my girlfriend were going to settle down somewhere soon I decided

there was no way our future flat was going to be filled with IKEA fourniture (it's an extremely famous low cost furniture seller in europe), the same as in a looooot of dwelings in europe.

So I decided I wanted to build my self (and eventually design a bit) most of our future fourniture. (decision absolutely not influenced by Mark Spagnuolo's videos)

But i needed a little bit of experience.

And before i knew it, my girlfriend proposed me to make a new desk for her little brother's birthday.

So let me introduce you to my first project: Valentin's brand new desk.

I learn something every second working on this, so make yourself easy and tell me everything you want to say.

For the base design of the desk I quickly oriented myself on Rietveld's "Military table".

militairetafel7.jpg

post-5172-0-36005500-1310158156_thumb.jp

I just looove that table, I like the very heavy and constructed aspect, the over-expression of the structure and the construction. It's kind of brutal but also very subtile with the purity of the lines wich makes it also very abstract. Just love it. Also because Rietveld made it relativelly easy to build.

But considering the bedroom's configuration I desided it should be a corner desk so he could have a side for homeworking and a side for his laptop.

And also that the homeworing side will need shelfs, over the top of the table since I hate when the legs are not fully free under a table. So here is the last version of the design: