Mounting?

Synon

Hello all! I'm just getting started with woodworking and I've created my first piece, a wall mounted coat rack. I'm big into re-using materials so this is actually a piece of pallet wood (oak maybe?), it's definitely harder that most of the other pallet wood I come across. I found a Celtic knot on the web and printed it out for a template. It's just about done, I couldn't find any coat hooks that I liked, most were too big, so I ended up using some larger cup hooks (1/2" I believe)... unless I find some better hooks that I like!

I have one step left before I move on to my next project, and that's mounting this thing on the wall. I don't expect this to hold a ton of weight, maybe a couple coats and a camelbak with a few pounds of stuff. Should I find a stud for this? Maybe these don't go well together, but what's the easiest way to mount this without taking away from the aesthetics? Thanks all!

post-1443-037108800 1283183995_thumb.jpg

Absolutely find a stud(s). It's hard to tell from the pic, but your studs should 16" in spacing. One on each end should do the trick.

If it were me, I'd find a larger hook, screw the wood to the wall, then install my outer two hooks in the same hole the screws are in, hiding the head of the screws by the hook.

Synon, I don’t see where you’re located in the world, but assuming your in America or Canada, I’ll go with Ben’s advice. If your coat rack is not long enough to span 16” centers, and assuming you don’t have some other wall structure (like lath and plaster), you could anchor one end to a stud and the other end with a toggle bolt through the sheet rock.

As far as the coat hooks go, you might check out these, or maybe these. Rockler is just an example. Many other suppliers have these including Lee Valley in Canada.