Plane Physics

outofstepper

Good morning all. I got to thinking about planing in general and there's a little

something I can't figure out on my own. Standard caveat: I'm new to all this!

Why does a power jointer have a stepped surface and a hand jointer need a flat sole?

That is, on a power jointer, the outfeed table is higher than the infeed.

But on a hand jointer the "outfeed" and "infeed" are on the same plane.

But they both make flat straight faces.

If a power jointer had a flat top (and the blade stuck out), you wouldn't get a

flat face. How come you do with a hand jointer?

Again, just curious.

i am just guessing here, but i think it has to do with knife placement. when you adjust a hand plane, you extend the blade past the sole. when you adjust a jointer you adjust the knife to the outfeed table height and then adjust the infeed table for the depth of cut. now, hand tools arent my thing but come of them do have adjustable soles, i think. hope that helps.

Off the top of my head, because both tools will get the wood acceptably flat enough to cut joinery. Bear in mind that tolerances in woodworking stop at the level of what the human eye can see. Scientists and engineers would be appalled at how "sloppy" we are.

Safety is another matter, though. A jointer is designed so that you can use it for extremely aggressive cuts or even bevel the fence. When you have blades spinning at warp 8 threatening to make your fingers into hamburger, you want the workpiece supported on both sides of the cut. The hand plane, however, doesn't have that problem. So the fraction of a fraction that the blade projects from the sole of the plane isn't a safety concern and the tool will still get your stock flat enough for work.