That Was A Tree In My Backyard

joelpro

Last year about this time, I had a white oak in my backyard that needed to come down. It was experiencing a little rotting, and it was right next to my house. Being a relatively new woodworker, I wondered if I could find somebody to mill the wood for me. Well, after a good bit of research and some phone calls to various people in the north Georgia area, I found a miller and a dryer, and I was able to get about 500 bf of decent quarter sawn white oak for about 300 dollars (not counting the cost to cut down the tree). Now, I can tell people who admire my little side table that last year, that was a tree in my backyard. post-214-0-49002900-1323292418_thumb.jpgpost-214-0-39917800-1323292495_thumb.jpg

I wanted to let people know that it is possible and let people know how I found the people to work with:

• I asked the people cutting down the tree to leave me about 8ft sections from the bottom four sections of the tree.
  • For milling, I got lucky here. Just down the road from my house there was a guy who had a sign in his yard saying "Rough Sawed Lumber". I called him, and he had a Wood Mizer and was willing to cut it for me for $0.10 a bf. This was a steal based on some other prices I got from others in the area.
  • I called the local hardwood dealers to see if they had a kiln to dry it for me. One did, and he charged me about $250 for drying the whole thing.
  • I don't yet have a planer, so I posted on Craigslist that I would be willing to sell some of the lumber, or trade it for use of a planer. One guy called me. He had two planers, and he and I spent a day planing the stock, for which I gave him 1/3 of the take.

I now have a ton of 1- and 2-in lumber that I love making into pieces to put in my house, because I never get tired of saying, "That was a tree in my backyard."