planing ribbon mahogany

falconfc

hey guys

i just bought 2 large boards of mahogany and one turns out to be ribbon mahogany.

i think thats what it is, it has grain strips going in the opposite direction every inch or so.

its a great find but, i am new to this and just bought my first 2 hand plans (veritas 4 1/2, and low angle jack)

and just learning how to use them and all of the sudden this wild grain is through out my second board

and i need advice in how to approach this with my hand planes and scrapers.

what planes, and how to use them, and what angle blades do i use?

thanks

I hate saying that the solution is another tool, because in most cases, it's not the tool that is the problem but how the tool is being used (i.e. not sharp enough, not planing with the grain, bad technique, etc.). But in this case, I think the planes you currently have are going to make it hard for you. I've worked with a lot of ribbon mahogany and it's just not an easy wood to plane with a large, wide smoother, because of the constant reversing grain.

The angle of the blade isn't going to matter much. Any common pitch plane (i.e. 45 degree cutting angle, regardless of plane type) or higher angle will work. The problem isn't anything that can be solved by another blade or angle with your current smoother or jack plane. You just need to plane in the direction of the grain. This might mean planing the stripes in opposite directions. However, this might prove difficult with a 4½ sized plane.

This is my major beef with long, wide smoothing planes. They're a kind of double edged sword in a sense. The long, wide smoothers like the 4½ are fantastic for very well behaved, straight grained, wide panels. But as soon as you get into a board with some reversing grain, that wide blade and long sole begin to cause trouble because it's difficult to selectively plane different areas in different directions with such a large plane.