The Sander of Choice

mzingali

Now that I know I need to find a good jointer and planer, I have the next piece of equipement to ask about...the Sander.

If you could only get one sanding machine for the shop, would it be a drum sander, combo belt/disc sander, or something else?

Any votes on Jet/Grizzly/Ridgid/etc..? I'm new to all of these.

TIA!

Mike

The real answer is "It Depends"

My first choice would be a good random orbit sander with a good dust collection system.

Rigid makes a good combination oscillating belt spindle sander (Model # EB4424) that I use a lot. It seems to me a better deal than a combination belt and disk sander but I assume that is a matter of preference.

I wish I had the room and also budget for a drum sander.

Domer

I have an old Craftsman combination belt and disk stationary sander that works for the things I do. I made my drum sander from a 1/2 hp furnace fan motor. It had three speeds, and with various grits on the drums, it too works well. It ain't beautiful, but it works.

If you could pick only one, then it would have to be a hand-held ROS. You need to follow up a drum sander with a ROS unless you like the straight grooves it leaves (the scratches are linear, not 'random'). A belt/disc is great for shaping as is an OSS, but neither works for sanding the face of a rail/stile. A desert-island choice would be a ROS; if I could choose which, a Rotex-125 since it has a disc mode, too.

I'd vote for all 3. But that's in an ideal world. And it also depends on what you create. Items with curves are better with the spindle sanders, oscillating or not. (I like the concept of the adapter for the drill press, myself.) But if you do a lot panel work, the drum sander will be a great first step.

(So will a #7 plane, for that matter. And you avoid the power cord issues.)