Holiday gift idea - personalized magnets

susieq4131

I realize these are a bit different from products usually posted here, but thought those with a scroll saw might be interested.

I have been making these for several years for family members. Grandparents and parents love these little items depicting their grandchildren and children. They can easily be made into ornaments by adding a small eye hook to the top of the product.

Took a few samples to work, and ended up with many people placing orders for the holiday season.

I take photos which are usually emailed to me and print them out on photo paper or you can scan a photo and print it out. I glue the picture to 1/4 inch poplar wood and using another piece of wood with a white paper on top of the finished photo (to protect the photo), clamp the pieces together until dry. I cut out the photo and then spray on a clear protective finish on the photo, sides and back, and let it dry. Next using the drill press, I drill a 3/4 inch hole on the back of the wood so the magnet is recessed, and glue the magnet in. Lightly sand the edges of the wood, as needed.

The tallest personalized magnets are 4 1/4 inches high. They can be in proportion to each other or all one size. They obviously could be made larger, if one desired.

SQ

post-1522-0-20232300-1289924615_thumb.jp

post-1522-0-57902000-1289924642_thumb.jp

So glad you like them! I always thought it would be cute to make them as ornaments (adding the small eye screw to the top. The family tree - in ornaments.

SQ

Does the scroll saw not tear the edges of the picture? How do you keep the picture edgessmooth after sanding?

Jeff

Does the scroll saw not tear the edges of the picture? How do you keep the picture edgessmooth after sanding?

Jeff