Common sense and sensitivity

jhl.verona

I've just completed a three day sharpening and tune-up marathon. Which I actually enjoyed, apart from the mess. This thread is a bit of a marathon too, so settle down comfortably.

Let me firstly point out that I am a complete beginner in this genteel art, I've read the reads, but not walked the walk - till now. I may well have done things wrong, so any pointers will be greatly appreciated.

Firstly, there is a noise - just one - which made it all worth while. It's the 'seeyou' sound the plane makes when you cut off a wafer thin shaving. It's not a half thou shaving mind you, but I made it (and the noise) with the help of my Stanley #4 and a new, sharpened Hock blade. On pine, 'cause that's all I have right now.

TLC and lapping

I bought a honing guide, a selection of wet and dry sandpaper, and grabbed a spare floor tile, that's 300mm/12" by 600mm/24" by 12mm/1/2" of marble. I also had a newly purchased Hock blade, an inherited Stanley #4, an unidentified block plane (but similar in shape to the #120) and a small bullnose, oh, and a Record 043 (and after a long search all three of its blades).

The planes, having been in storage for several years were a bit lack lustre. I don't have the ability to bring them back to a pristine condition, but at least I can tackle the working parts.

The first thing I did was take them apart one plane at a time. I'm very good at this, but have trouble putting things back together again, I usually have some bits 'left over' when done. So I took lots of photos for reference - which I used twice.

All the steel threads (especially the depth adjustment thread) got brushed over with a small (toothbrush size) brass wire brush.

Thought about removing the lateral adjuster on the frog, then decided that I'd probably never get it back on again, so it stayed put.