Hi everyone...newbie here

slim

I am a 28 year old contractor (10 yrs. experience) and for the past 5 years have been doing small furniture projects and am generally self taught. For the past 8 months or so i have been trying to learn more on building furniture the RIGHT way and I have slowly began to set myself up a shop. I still am running all hand held tools and get my wood processed at local dealer. Planer, jointer, router table, dust collection, band saw, ALL still have to be purchased. Since i dont have means of buying them all at once [2 kids....one on the way :)] could someone help prioritize these for me? Thanks a lot !!

James (SLOWER LOWER DELAWARE)

Hi James, you mean there is a right way. LOL My advice would be to buy what you need and work up from there. A table saw or router table can aid you in jointing. You can even use a router to thickness stock with a jig. Hand planes are fairly reasonable and can be gotten at yard sales as well as the stores. A table saw will do a lot of tasks such as doing some re saw work, Cross cutting and ripping, dadoes, tenons, box joints and miters. A lot depends on what kind of projects you want to do as to the tools you may want .

Ok Thanks Greg....I guess there really isnt a right way :) . I DO have a table saw. I made a larger deck for it and a detachable out feed. Also have a few jigs that run on the mitre slide. Because of all the uses i have heard for them, I am guessing that a router table might be the next thing to buy (been using hand held all along). I think there are even ways to build your own....I may have to look more into that. Thanks again. Anyone else throw me a bone?

-James (diggin out a splinter)