Possible to fix blotch without re-doing entire piece?

noddie1

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the community, so forgive me if there is already a thread on this topic; I looked and didn't find one, but doesn't mean it isn't there.

About a year ago I started a mission bed. As I was a student at the time, the most economical wood for me to use was poplar. While it was fairly nice to work with in terms of machining and mortise/tenon joints, I ran into some blotching issues with the finish. I did multiple tests, perhaps dozens, varying different stains (oil/gel/water based) and seal coat combinations (minwax pre-condition, old masters stain control, a premixed shellac). The course of action I decided on was the old masters stain controller followed by three coats of a dark walnut gel stain from old masters. It came out much better than a lot of the test pieces, with a few exceptions.

I should mention that I don't have a shop of my own; I started this bed while I was in grad school living in my parents basement and have since moved a few hours away. The bed took me about a year because I was only able to work on it a weekend every month or two, which was not ideal because it made me impatient in the finishing stage. For example, I saw that the finish was uneven on the top of the foot board. I sanded/scraped it off to bare wood and started again, only to have the uneven finish appear again when I redid it. Given my impatience, I decided that it likely wouldn't get any better and that I would have to live with it. I threw on 4 coats of a wiping poly, assembled the bed and moved it to my apartment.

Now that I have been living with my 'finished' bed for a few weeks, the uneven finish on the top of the foot board is driving me insane - every time I walk into the room, I am reminded of my impatience, which detracts from the pride I should feel towards the largest and most challenging piece I`ve made to date.