Hand plane advice needed

d3v

Hi all.

I'm a hobbyist yew bowyer and after aqquiring a a good stock of yew tree trunks I'm taking bowyering seriously, and that means making a good solid work bench with a couple of vices.

I've got all the timber, screws and fixings that I need to actually make the bench, however the 3 (9" wide) pine boards I intend to use for the worktop surface have bits and pieces of dried concrete stuck on them. I intend to remove the concrete with a power sander, but I would also like to hand plane the suface to achieve a nice flat working tabletop surface.

I've read the plane thread sticky here but was dissapointed to see only Veritas and Lie Nielson reccomendations, both being out of my price range and overkill for my limited needs.

There's a few hand planes currently on ebay that I would like you're opinions on. I intend to sharpen the blade myself, but want the ability to fit new blades if need be. How do I know if spare blades are available for a certain plane? Could you guys pick out a plane from this ebay auction list that have spare blades readily available...

http://www.ebay.co.u...6.c0.m270.l1313

Thanks!

A Stanley or Record No. 6, 7, or 8 would be good. I wouldn't worry about the blade. Unless it's a smoothing plane, the blade doesn't need to be perfect, just sharp, and blades for those models are still available. The best option would be to borrow one in working condition or have someone show you how to use one. You may want to try a boot fair, where you'll be able to examine the goods closely for broken castings etc. There are also a lot of wooden jointers in your neck of the woods that may be serviceable.