wood ID verification

kharmachanic

Newby here..

So I will start with what is probably a pretty easy one..

I acquired (free) 2 large and very heavy doors, they claimed they were Mahogany and approx 20 years old.

my goal is/was to harvest the wood for making small instruments.

It had a redish stain .. so I took a quick finish sand to this and it actually looks a little more like Oak .. but like I said Im new to this

The wood is 2.5 in thick, there appears to be some straight grained (quartersawn?) pieces

and when sanded even after 20 years it gave off a very strong and distinct smell kinda like sandlewood or even some KOA I worked with once..

Can anyone give me an idea..

these are pics of the door and a couple close-ups of the grains..

any assistance is helpful..

I tried to attach the images but it would not let m e..

door1.jpg

door2.jpg

well first off its not quarter sawn you can tell by the flame wood grain. the smell could be from the finish that you took off so you cant realy trust that indicator. kinda hard to tell. where do you live so we can tell if its domestic or exotic. also if you can end grain can make huge difference. realy had to tell because the wood going across almost looks like realy good quality oak. or because of the redish finish there is still some color to it so the color almost look like cherry. how heavy is the door? if you cut it does it splinter badly around the cut?

as far as splintering I have not made any cuts it at all..

as far as weight I can lift each door by my self but I hurt afterward.. they are Very heavy..

I put up a link with a few more pictures some of the end grain, (but did not knock all the finish off)

If this turns out to be Oak I have no need for it.. that is why I am curious.. if they are Oak I will just attempt so find them a new home, as I dont really want to expend the effort dismantling these if I cant use the wood for what I am doing..