Suggestions for spraying CAB lacquer?

Clavius

This is my first time spaying a finishing. I plan to use Sherwin Williams CAB acryilc lacquer on a maple cabinet using an Earlex 5500. I'm open to any tips you might have to get me started. A few questions I have:

• Do you prefer a 1.5mm or 2mm tip for lacquer?
  • Should I thin the lacquer? I've read that thinning may cause the laquer to dry too quickly so I would also need to add a retarder.
  • The CAB acrylic lacquer data sheet recommends applying one coat of vinyl sanding sealer. I think this gives the lacquer a better better bond and reduces the chance of peeling. Anyone use this? Will it yellow over time?

Thanks!

First let me preface that I spray with a pressure gun set at 35 psi for SW vinyl sealer and CAB acrylic lacquer. My gun has a 1.7mm tip. I have sealed under lacquer with both the vinyl sealer and sealcoat (shellac). I also use a sealer as a basecoat to even the absorbtion of the stain layer. So the first coat I spray, is either sealcoat or 1:1 ratio of vinyl sealer:lacquer thinner depending on the final color I want to achieve. The sealcoat is more yellow in color compared to the vinyl sealer. This plays into the final color I'm trying to achieve. After the sealing layer, I spray the stain and wipe. Then depending on whether I want another color layer, I'll spray another coat of either the sealcoat or 1:1 vinyl sealer after the first stain layer and the 2nd layer or glaze layer. Then after I'm finished with the color layers, I'll spray a layer of 4:1 vinyl sealer:lacquer thinner. Then the lacquer layer at a 4:1 lacquer:lacquer thinner ratio. And I'll continue to spray this ratio until I get the desired appearance and build I want. The vinyl sealer does not yellow over time. I thin both the vinyl sealer and lacquer as mentioned above and do not add any retarders. And, I almost always will use the vinyl sealer and lacquer together for cabinetry.