has anyone used okoume?

wyowoodwrker

First off, new poster. I have been reading for weeks now glad I found this site, got a lot of great tips. I am fairly new to the hobby and really enjoy my time in my shop.

On to my point. I picked up a shipping crate at work today and after a little research from where it came from I was able to determine that it is okoume. The question being has anyone used it. The web says its used for a lot of sheet goods but this is a solid board crate.. its tight grained moderatley soft and pinkish color with a curl look to it similar to maple.... just wondering if anyone has used it before. I'm thinking keep sake boxes and other small stuff....

The plywood was awful, smelled funny , warped and did not finish well. The solid wood was easy to work and stained and finished just fine. I think I remember it fuzzed up from router bits, took a tiny shaving cut and cut most of it off. Had to climb cut a section to get it clean.

Thanks for the info, I ran a small piece, relatively. Through the planer last night. It planed nicely and has a really neat grain pattern and salmon pink color to it, add the stains from the iron nails they used to build the crate and it is really pretty. I did notice the off sort if smell as well and left an almost bitter taste in the throat. Believe I will be wearing a mask when working with it from now on. Will post pictures as I get going with it. Thanks again for the info.