Sanding and Finishing ~ red cedar and reclaimed barn wood bench.

heartlandnewbienks

Hi all, I'm a relative newbie when it comes to woodworking but I do enjoy taking on a project every now and then. My latest project is a outdoor bench made out of an old tailgate,red cedar for the frame and reclaimed barn wood for the seat and armrests and I have a few questions when it comes to finishing it. This will be an outdoor bench btw. 1) The cedar frame... I will be using red cedar from one of the local lumberyards, so nothing special there. Can I sand this wood smooth ie furniture smooth? What is the best method of achieving a smooth finish on this type of wood? 2) Reclaimed barn wood... I am unsure of the type of wood it is but I want to make sure that it is smooth and sliver free.. would I sand it just like any other type of wood or is there a particular method that is best? 3) The finish itself... I love the color tones of the natural wood so I know i dont want to go with a stain. I would like a clear, slightly glossy finish to highlight the those beautiful wood tones, yet hold up to the Eastern Kansas weather. This bench will spend its life outdoors, with no cover so Ill need something that has UV protection as well.Ive read numerous times about Epifanes and I looked them up and they are quite pricey. Is there a more affordable choice with just as good protection from UV and harsh weather? Any advice will be greatly appreciated!