First router

bignoise

I'm an apprentice carpenter and the router is a tool that I haven't really explored the possibilities of. I use it now and again at work but I spend more of my time on site than in the workshop.

I would like to try some projects at home/boss's workshop and would like to buy my own router as I prefer working with my own tools. I would appreciate any recommendations for a good quality investment all rounder router.

Cheers

What ever brand of router you decide to buy, I'd suggest a router combo that comes with a fixed base and a plunge base. Here's a link to five combo router reviews.

http://woodworking.about.com/od/routers/tp/Best-5-Combo-Router-Kit-Values.htm

When I bought my router I did a lot of research and asked around on a couple of different forums including the "Router Forums." The answer that consistently came back as the best all around router for a beginner is the Bosch 1617evspk which is the combination fixed base and plunge router. Things I like about it include the ability to raise and lower the router from above a table (assuming your router plate has a hole drilled in the right place) and the overall sturdiness of the unit.

Hope that helps.

Oh and unless you are rolling in the dough I'd steer clear of the festool stuff. It may be nice but I don't think it is 2 to 3 times as nice as Routers like the Bosch.

I have 3 routers... One cheap 2.25 HP that is in a dedicated router lift that I use only in my table, a rigid trim router and the Triton MOF001.