Cutting Board - little help ?

mr.graham

Ok so I'm relatively new to woodworking and I was hoping to get some input on the cutting board process. So I'm going to try and build one of Marc's fancy man's cutting boards out of maple and purple heart, I've got a couple of 8/4 pieces and have begun the planning process. Now the 8/4 board measures 1 3/4 inch thick, just as you'd expect, but the plans call for to "flatten" the boards to 1 5/8th , but the finished product will end up to be 1 1/4 inch thick.

My quesion is what tools, minus the planer would be the best choices to get the work pieces flat and 1 5/8 inch thick.

If the final dementions are expected to be 1 1/4 inch thick, why not just use a table saw to trim the 1 3/4 inch stock down to 1 1/4 inch stock and lightly sand?

all responses are welcome, like I said I'm new at this..

--T

You can trim to a closer dimension and sand. A high angle hand plane will flatten your project, but considering all the different grain directions you might have, it will be a chore.

A belt sander works in many peoples hand. I know some people who would flatten it with a router, or you can take it to a local cabinet shop and pay them $10-20.

I have been known to lay similar things on the garage floor and sand them with the floor sander. That isn't something everyone will want to do.

You can trim to a closer dimension and sand. A high angle hand plane will flatten your project, but considering all the different grain directions you might have, it will be a chore.

A belt sander works in many peoples hand. I know some people who would flatten it with a router, or you can take it to a local cabinet shop and pay them $10-20.

I have been known to lay similar things on the garage floor and sand them with the floor sander. That isn't something everyone will want to do.

Thanks for your reply Sternberg, I think I'm going get the pieces as close as I can with the Tablesaw before the first glueup and then flatten with a sander.