Patrick in Iowa City

Sinister

Hi, as the topic title implies, I'm Patrick from Iowa City IA. I've been an amateur woodworker since 2003. I started just like most guys - out of home improvement necessity. When we bought our house, it had a shop in the basement under the garage and I quickly set to home improvement projects. My first stationary power tool was a belt sander. I now have a pretty complete set of tools but that belt sander is still an unsung hero.

I'm a Research Professor at the University of Iowa. Marc might be interested to know that I use many fine InVitrogen products on a daily basis. I'm in the Department of Pediatrics, Division of Allergy and Pulmonary. If anyone has any lung related questions - I may not know the answer, but I would likely know how to find out.

I do have a grizzly cyclone. My shop is the size of a 2 car garage but the ceilings are low so my options were limited. I think sawdust in your lungs is a real concern and limiting it as best you can is important. However, I've done a lot of reading on the topic and the actual science addressing the risks of sawdust is poor so it's tough to say how dangerous it really is. Obviously, it's best to error on the side of keeping as much crud out of your lungs as possible.

I graduated in December from the Neuroscience program, I did my thesis work in a lab in the Biology Department. Now I'm doing a postdoc at the Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor, ME. I also use fine Invitrogen products pretty much every day. My wife and I miss Iowa City. We have a lot of good friends out there.

I graduated in December from the Neuroscience program, I did my thesis work in a lab in the Biology Department. Now I'm doing a postdoc at the Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor, ME. I also use fine Invitrogen products pretty much every day. My wife and I miss Iowa City. We have a lot of good friends out there.