Shop Furniture

Kerry

Since I'm just starting out I need to make some shop furniture. I'm looking to do a router table and a small drill press stand as well as a small workbench. I have little room to store anything and when I work I have to move it out into the driveway. You see I don't own the house I just rent the basement half. The homeowner has agreed to give me a small piece of the garage to store my things in but not work in it as he keeps his car in there. So everything has to be mobile.

What I'm considering doing for the router table and drill press stand is making them out of construction 2x4 materials and mdf. Basically it would be 2x4 fro the "frame" and mdf for the "panels". I was going to use a stub tenon of 3/4" thickness by 1/2" long for the cross pieces and just groove out the legs the whole way instead of individual mortises as that would let me just use 3/4" mdf panels. I hope that makes sense. I'm working on a sketchup model of the router table at the moment. My main concern is that the tenons on the cross pieces wouldn't be strong enough and they don't have any shoulder on the top and bottom. Am I just over-thinking this too much? Would this be fine? I guess I'm mainly worried that this would have problems since they will be moved around a lot.

The workbench I'm still thinking about but I'm leaning toward a double 2x4 leg with the cross pieces set in with a through tenon (think it's called a bridle joint but I can't remember right now). The long stretchers would be mortised in with a stub tenon and a long bolt through the through tenon. Does this sound strong enough? Actually does that even make sense to anyone? I still don't know how to make it on wheels and yet not roll away when I'm using it. Wish I could think of a way to make the wheels retract and it sit on the legs when in use, but so far I'm drawing a blank on that one.

Hi Kerry,