Opinions Please...

WizardJ

Could you all take a look at these three air compressors and help me decide which I should go with? I'm fairly new to woodworking and want to get something that is good enough for me now and down the road. I will have only my nailer right away but in time would like to use a finish sprayer. My sander is electric.

1st

2nd

3rd

whats the difference in the first two that makes for a $20 price difference?

Also, incase I don't go with any of the listed ones,what HP and gallon size should I be shopping for based on the uses I have mentioned?

Thanks alot

Jason

A nail gun doesn't take much. Any of those will handle it.

For spraying, that's different and depends on your gun. Mine is an LVLP (HVLP that takes even less SCFM from the compressor) and even so, it wouldn't work for topcoats on any of those three. Dyes, sure, water-based topcoat, no. My LVLP needs 7.5 SCFM @ 40psi minimum. For that, I got their 2hp 20 gallon compressor. Again, it barely makes the grade for it at least without running the compressor too much. You'd have to look at spray guns when you get there.

So, that said, consider a small compressor for your nailers. It isn't on the site, but once I saw some small thin narrow compressors intended to be put under a bench on a shelf next to other stuff. It ran very quietly. That could be good for a nailer even if you pop it out of the bench to take in the house (thinking crown or base molding). It wasn't very expensive either. Then, when you decide to go for a sprayer, you can size the compressor to the gun you choose.