Advice for a new Miter Saw

Spangler1992

Hello, I am new to woodwokring and I am looking and thinking that building custom birdhouses and doll houses are going to be something I want to give a try. I see the many different compound miter saws on the market and am torn as I am not experienced in the woodworking hobby. What is a good start compound miter saw that I will not have to replace for a long time yet do everything I will eventually need to do?

The Bosch GCM 12 SD 12 inch Double Bevel Miter Saw is on my wish list. The saw requires less floor space than a typical sliding miter saw. It bevels both ways. It is a 12" saw with great power and capacity. It is pretty pricey ($748), but it seems like you're willing to invest in a "tool" not some cheap saw from Harbor Freight.

If not, I would go with a DeWalt compound miter saw such as the DW715 or DW716. You can go with the DW717 if you're looking for a sliding compound saw. I have had the DW715 ($264) for the last 15 years with zero problems. It is a tank. The horizontal hand grip and large trigger are very comfortable to operate.

Definitely get a nice 80 tooth blade for the 12" saws if it does not come with one. Whatever you do, I highly recommend against a 10" saw. They compromise too much in my opinion. Reviews in the WOOD magazine agree.

If not, I would go with a DeWalt compound miter saw such as the DW715 or DW716. You can go with the DW717 if you're looking for a sliding compound saw. I have had the DW715 ($264) for the last 15 years with zero problems. It is a tank. The horizontal hand grip and large trigger are very comfortable to operate.

Starting to look at reviews of the 715 and I am really liking what I am ready, that is more than likley what I am going to get next week and I appreciate your time in giving me input

I have the Bosch 12" Glide saw. It is awesome in every way. I highly recommend it.

I also had a year 2001 vintage DeWalt 12 SCMS. It was very nice too.