Thick veneer

I am having an issue with some quarter-sawn white oak. I am making a bookcase with frame and panel sides. The problem that I am having right now is with the panels. The wood just won't settle down. It just keeps cupping. I take a little off of the thickness and let it sit. It continues to cup. I started out with 3/4" rough stock, hoping to end up with 1/2" panels. Right now I'm at 3/8" and the boards are still massively cupped. I'm really hoping to use these panels, because the ray flecks look so nice.

One solution I thought was to just thickness them down to 1/8" thick, and then glue them to a stable base, but I've never used material that thick before for veneer. Will this work? Should I go thinner then 1/8"? Thicker? Should I just throw the pieces into the burn pile and use something else?

Thanks in advance,

Jonathan

===================================

It seems odd they have so much motion. When you thickness, you're taking off equal amounts on both sides, correct? Otherwise, you'll get a lot of cup.

When I use home-sawn veneer, I limit it to 1/8" thick at most. Haven't had a problem. You'll need a balance veneer at those thicknesses so be sure to veneer the other side of the base; doesn't have to be with more QS white oak... I pick on Poplar for that.

Is that stuff kiln dried?

I'm no expert but if it is kiln dried then you should be able to mill it up sand it and seal it up to prevent it from drying out to quick.

where is it from? Can you test the moisture content?

Unless it is soaking wet I think you should be able to mill the pieces and seal them up to lock in the moisture or maybe seal out the moisture if your in a damp climate.

Good luck

Is that stuff kiln dried?

I'm no expert but if it is kiln dried then you should be able to mill it up sand it and seal it up to prevent it from drying out to quick.

where is it from? Can you test the moisture content?