Gluing after finishing

un_boeing

Hi,

I just built an L shaped computer desk out of red oak. I wanted to put danish oil on it as I am really fond of keeping as much of the natural color of the wood as possible. I went with the golden oak shade, and after a day or so i added a coat of medium walnut (after my girlfriend suggested it). The color is beautiful and I am waiting for it to completely dry before finishing everything with satin polyurethane. My problem (this is my first project) is that I applied the danish oil on all the parts of the apron BEFORE gluing them to the top. They all have doweling holes corresponding to holes in the top, as I thought it would add strength to the join. As soon as I was done with that I began realizing that wood glue might not work now. So I was wondering what my solutions could be, if any? Here's a picture I took just now. Help, please?

post-4527-0-33641600-1303157401_thumb.jp

Why glue? Typically tops are screwed to the bases. If it is solid wood top, then you need to account for wood movement. If it is plywood top, then you can screw directly. if solid wood, you can mount some slotted brackets to the inside of the aprons which will allow the wood to move without splitting.