Carcass Saw vs. Tenon Saw

justinh

I've recently received some birthday money and am contemplating purchasing a saw to be used mainly for cutting tenons. I'm fairly new to woodworking and only have a 26" hand saw and a small Gent's dovetail saw.

What are some things to consider when purchasing a saw for cutting tenons, and what are the differences between a carcass saw and a tenon saw? Also, feel free to make suggestions on saws that you've used for this purpose. My budget is around $100, maybe a little bit more. Thanks.

-Justin

Maybe Shannon will chime in with more authoritative info. I have Lee Valley Carcass saws, both rip and cross cut. I believe the primary difference between them and tenon saws is the plate depth. A tenon saw will usually be able to do a deeper (tenon) cut. The carcass saws have 2-3/8 inch depth which is plenty for most tenons unless you'll be doing long through tenons. There might be slight difference in tooth count, but probably not significantly so. The LeeValley Veritas carcass saws are $69 each, or $119 for the set, plus shipping. To me they seem like good value and a decent product. There are more costly saws out there which may be worth it, if your circumstances and preferences allow, but I don't feel that the Veritas saws will disappoint if you are just getting into hand saws.

For tenon cheeks you want a rip setup, for the shoulders you want cross cut. So ideally you get both. Of course one can make do until funds allow. Others may be able to suggest which is best for combo if you can't come up with an extra $20. Our maybe you can have another birthday...quickly. : )

Before getting my Veritas dovetail saw, I had a gent saw, probably from LeeValley as well. Did not have success with it and gave up quickly. Could have been the saw, surely is me, but...

Let's raise a toast to birthday money.

Cheers

I'm not a master-at-anything in the woodworking realm; but I do enjoy a quality, vintage handsaw.