Hello from Austin

ChefSam

I'm new to Austin, coming all the way from Maine, and am hoping to solicit advice from any local woodworkers. My only experience consists of some basic set construction, and then messing around in a friend's shop with power and some hand tools. I've built a few things here and there but unfortunately have moved into an apartment so the days of teaching myself in a garage are over. However, I'm very motivated to keep learning.....So I'm looking for advice on any and all learning opportunities in Austin--apprenticeships, classes, entry-level jobs, etc.

Thanks!

Sam,

Welcome to Texas. How are you handling the heat? I live in Victoria which is located about 2 hours Southeast of Austin. I don’t really have much information about classes or events in Austin. However, I would be very interested in joining you if you find some in the area.

Until then, stay safe.

Sam,

Welcome to Texas. How are you handling the heat? I live in Victoria which is located about 2 hours Southeast of Austin. I don’t really have much information about classes or events in Austin. However, I would be very interested in joining you if you find some in the area.

Until then, stay safe.

My grandparents used to have a place in Halletsville, and we'd auction our cattle in Victoria. I'm in Dallas now, can't imagine how hot it is in Victoria.

I'm new to Austin, coming all the way from Maine, and am hoping to solicit advice from any local woodworkers. My only experience consists of some basic set construction, and then messing around in a friend's shop with power and some hand tools. I've built a few things here and there but unfortunately have moved into an apartment so the days of teaching myself in a garage are over. However, I'm very motivated to keep learning.....So I'm looking for advice on any and all learning opportunities in Austin--apprenticeships, classes, entry-level jobs, etc.

Thanks!