Lathe comparison

madisonbrent

I am just getting into turning and wanted to buy a new lathe. I have 2 in mind that are completely different lathes and was wondering if I could get some input from people who have worked with them. The first on my list is a JET 1220 not the VS simple because of cost... or the Delta 46-455 http://www.woodcraft.com/Product/2064107/26243/DELTA-5Speed-Midi-Lathe-1212-Model-46455.aspx

the Delta is $50 less, plus it has a $50 mail in rebate.... so $100 less in total.

I like the JET because it has 20 inch centers instead of the 16 on the Delta

Both cost the same to upgrade with the extension, both have same HP

Also, with adding an extension to a lathe like this with the 3/4 HP, can it still handle a 10-12 in log that is 40 inches?

I just recently purchased the Delta 460 (the VS version of what you are looking at). It is a great lathe. I started thinking about this lathe based on the recommendation of Roger, who is very active here in the forum. When doing my own research on midi lathes, the benefits of the Delta started to quickly out number the benefits of the Jet. When of the big ones (and this will be bigger for the non-VS version) is the belt change. It is a snap, and can be done in less than 30 seconds. There were several other factors as well that led me to the Delta. The reverse on the VS Delta was another factor with going with the Delta.

Also, the VS does cost extra, but it is WELL worth it. My old lathe used belt changes to adjust the speed. I have found myself using the appropriate speeds now for my turnings, and have noticed that the over-all quality of the turned piece is that much nicer.