painting MDF (that's doesn't end up sticky!)

3djedi

I'm building a bed out of MDF and ply for a child and she wants the bed painted white. I've tried painting shelves in the past with a quality latex paint only to find everything gets stuck to it. What type of paint is recommended for this kind of application? If I spray some polycrylic over the latex would that work?

Second question: We saw a piece of furniture at the store that was white and super glossy. It looked almost plastic. How could a achieve a finish like this? Is it just many coats of a glossy polyurethane?

Ps. I'm new to woodworking so sorry if these are stupid questions!

Thanks!

not sure if it would work but maybe you could try an enamel or acrylic paint? I think alot of people also use lacquer over paint on MDF. I don't remember the specifics but somebody posted a cabinet that they built out of MDF with a really nice finish that's detailed in the critique room portion of this site. I know, not much helpful info here but hopefully I got you pointed in the right direction.

edit: the post I was thinking of can be found here.

It sounds like the paint was put on too thick, and it had not completely dried, resulting in the stickiness. One thing to keep in mind is that when you apply latex paint to drywall, you are apply it to the paper, and it any soak in is minimized. With MDF, it is sawdust/chips that have been glued to form a sheet, so that paint will soak into it. Try putting a thin coat of primer, make sure it is good and dry, then put on 2 or 3 thin coats of latex. Try this on a test piece of MDF, and see how it works out.

As for the factor finish you are talking about, the reason it looks like plastic, is because it essentially is plastic that has been applied over the MDF piece.

To spray:

I like General Finishes white undercoat (primer) Then top that off with the General Finishes Enduro White Pigmented Poly.

To brush: