Sanding after staining, smoother

calitopgun

I am building a platform bed using a torsion box top. I am hoping to finish this before Thanksgiving so thanks in advance for quick replies.

First I want to say I am a beginner and this is the first "fine" piece I have done, so be gentle. All the wood is furniture grade.

The torsion box was built out of birch ply with a tempered hardboard top and Birch hardwood outsides. The foundation is Birch ply. I am mostly concerned with the hardwood at this point (as I don't want to sand the ply any more at the risk of getting below the top grain layer).

I sanded the hardwood to #110, then #220 with a electric palm sander. I then stained the hardwood (2 coats) with Minwax Colonial Maple wood stain, but it turned out more red than I wanted (I know, I should have tested first, but I'm new at this). So, I made the third coat golden oak. I LOVE the way it looks now but don't like the texture. I was hoping it would feel smoother, like it did when it was raw and freshly sanded.

I also have a semi-gloss polyurethane that I had planned on using after the staining.

Please help me to get a smooth finish without damaging the perfect color I just achieved. Please don't assume I know the proper technique to employ your suggestions.

Fyi...sand through the grits next time. 110 then up to 220 is a big jump and could be your problem? Can you see scratch in the wood from the 110 paper? The 220 has probably just kissed the surface leaving the coarser 110 scratch pattern below?

Is your stain oil based?

At this point, I'm thinking just building your first few coats of poly up (straight from the can, no thinning). Then a light scuff with 320 paper sanding between a few more coats, until your smooth. You want to achieve a build to seal in the rough.

-Ace-

Proper technique is usually learned in the school of hard knocks...(we all have been there) ;) technique is learned from outcome of many mistakes.