Resawing Problem

Well, I'm a student and enrolled in an entry level woods course, which I feel is well below my level. The shop we work in is huge. We have really, really nice stationary tools. For example our helical cutter planer has a 24" depth. Yes depth, not width. Sadly just about everything else is lacking; I can run my finger back and forth with mild pressure across the edge of any one of the chisels without fear. Don't even get me started on the lathe tools.

Anyway, I need to resaw a 11/16"x6"x24" board into preferably 4 pieces. The bandsaw the shop has is really nice, a 24" monstrosity with bearing guides and the whole nine yards. However, whenever the blade guard is tightened it twists the blade and the fence will not tilt far enough to compensate for the drift. Our instructor does not want us messing with the tools, and quite frankly I'm surprised he even let me try to fix the drift. So doing a tune up isn't an option not even considering the time constraints. What would be the best option to try to get at least two pieces out of this? We've got a huge drum sander so cleaning them up won't be too big of an issue either.

1. Make up an L-shaped gizmo something like the one shown in the picture. Doesn't have to be fancy, just make sure the vertical face is parallel to the bandsaw blade. (If the bandsaw is set up right, that means the vertical face will also be square to the table.)

2. Attach your board temporarily to the gizmo using hot glue or double-sided tape or something similar so that your board is riding on its edge, ready to be resawn and now nice and stable because it is attached to the gizmo.

3. Draw a line on the top edge of the board where you want to cut, forget about the bandsaw's regular fence, and just follow the line freehand with the bandsaw.

OR