lathe misalignment - how big a problem, and how to fix?

bgreenb

Hi all,

Wasn't sure whether to post this in the Turner's Corner or here, but it seemed like more of a tool question.  Mods feel free to move it.

I recently got an old Jet 1236 lathe from a neighbor.  It was kind of beat up, but I cleaned it up a bunch, and the motor is in great shape.  I haven't actually used it to turn anything, and I'm looking to build Marc's tilt top table in the next month or so.

Anyway, I got a new drive center and tailstock center for it, and when I installed them I noticed that they are misaligned by about 1/16" in two dimensions (see pic).  Both of them spin true (no wobble), but they're misaligned.  How big of a problem is this?  Part of me says that as long as I contact the center of each end of the blank, and they both spin true, and I put the tool rest parallel to the blank, everything should be fine, right?  Maybe not.  I'm new to turning.

If it's a big problem, how do I fix it?  I suppose I could shim the tailstock on the dovetail ways, but it's difficult because it's a moveable part - in other words, if the tailstock were stationary, you could shim it and just leave it, but it has to travel along the lathe bed.

Any advice?

Thanks!

post-11842-0-11902700-1398347493_thumb.j

post-11842-0-83639900-1398347493_thumb.j

You should be able to loosen the bolts holding the head stock on the bed and move it slightly from side to side to correct horizontal alignment. There is generally enough play in the holes to do that. Is it also out of alignment vertically? 

You should be able to loosen the bolts holding the head stock on the bed and move it slightly from side to side to correct horizontal alignment. There is generally enough play in the holes to do that. Is it also out of alignment vertically?