Greene-ish dining table (top)

atratinus

I all,

I don't have enough documentation of this project to post in the 'Journals' forum, but I wanted to show the progress I've made thus far on our new dining table.

It's not fine woodworking by any means, but I'm proud of the piece, especially considering it was built with standard contractor's tools (with one exception, noted below). I'm a hardwood flooring contractor, so the top is solid tigerwood shorts (sometimes called koa, I think) nailed down to a 3/4-inch birch plywood base. I used 1x walnut to hide the plywood and flooring edges, and then decided to try to emulate a few G&G details: softened 'finger joints' and wenge plugs cut from a leftover piece of feature strip.

The flooring was nailed on the tongue with 15-gauge, and made flat with my flooring edger (the only specialty tool involved here). Finish is currently two coats of Waterlox original, soon to be followed by a coat of satin.

The base will be made next weekend, hopefully. I will add to this post at that time, but would appreciate any comments, especially regarding topcoating with Waterlox satin and proud finger joints, aand any ideas for the legs and aprons, which are going to be African mahogany but are otherwise still unsettled.

(I don't need comments on the dark four-board stagger, as I am still kicking myself for that. Ugh.)

Thanks,

Ryan

post-9233-0-57581000-1413165721_thumb.jp

post-9233-0-73348200-1413165758_thumb.jp

post-9233-0-45433900-1413165802_thumb.jp

Looks pretty spiffy so far!

Regarding the base. Just keep in mind where you envision people sitting at the table and how much space a person really can take up under the table. Putting legs in the 4 corners will result in the most stable table, but it means you can't sit anyone at those corners. If you are going for a trestle or something with legs inside the table, then allow for at least 15" between the outside of the table and the base wherever you plan to sit a person.