Need advice!

bm3324

So I've built this dresser and in the staining process I am not particularly pleased with how the solid maple trip turned out (see picture). I'm a rookie wood worker (ESPECIALLY IN THE FINISHING AREA) so I need some advice on whether it would be wise to try to restain just the solid maple trim to make it look better or not to bother. As you can see, the maple plywood box turned out pretty even, but the solid trim on the face isn't as consistent as I would like. BTW I did use pre stain conditioner on all surfaces. And the method of staining was spraying (however half way into spraying, the gun started acting up and it was a disaster of a mess). 

Thank you in advance for any helpful advice! 

Also, the solid trim runs around the outside and then one horizontal strip underneath the top too drawer openings. The rest of the inner frame work will be hidden by drawer faces. 

post-17096-0-57421100-1425050729_thumb.j

It doesn't look like there is anything else you can do.  I have learned the hard way to make sure I do test pieces before staining or dying the project I am working on!  I love woodworking and struggle with the finishing process.

OK. In the future, is there anything to do different with solid maple to get better results? I'm sure this topic has been discussed thousands of time so I will try to search through the forum...feel free to tell me where it's already been discussed. don't wanna waste your time if the answers are already here. thanks! 

==>I did use pre stain conditioner on all surfaces

PSC/BC/etc reduce blotching, not eliminate it (as you now know)... Maple is quite blotch prone, so coloring the wood itself is an iffy process (as you have learned)… A more reliable process is tinting and/of glazing approach... Of course, the best approach is to not color the wood at all... :)

==>It doesn't look like there is anything else you can do...