Covering furniture with polyurethane

MikeMc

Hi all,

I am new to staining and have a question. I have assembled a few pieces of shop furniture including and assembly table and some cabinets.

I am staining these pieces with Minwax natural stain after using a pre-treat. I am only staining the exterior surfaces that will be visible when the pieces are complete.

My question relates to the final polyurethane coating. I intend to do the interior of the cabinets and drawer boxes but do you recommend polyurethane over the entire pieces? Things like the underside of the assembly table and the underside of the cabinet or is it better to just seal the parts people will come into contact with?

Your experiences are appreciated.

Hi all,

I am new to staining and have a question. I have assembled a few pieces of shop furniture including and assembly table and some cabinets.

I am staining these pieces with Minwax natural stain after using a pre-treat. I am only staining the exterior surfaces that will be visible when the pieces are complete.

My question relates to the final polyurethane coating. I intend to do the interior of the cabinets and drawer boxes but do you recommend polyurethane over the entire pieces? Things like the underside of the assembly table and the underside of the cabinet or is it better to just seal the parts people will come into contact with?

Your experiences are appreciated.

For shop cabinets, you sould be OK just putting poly on the surfaces that you'll come in contact, but for real furniture, you'll want to poly both sides of a board evenly - Poly seals the wood, restricting the ammount of moisture that can enter/exit the wood during seasonal humdity changes. If only one side has poly, the other can absorb more moisture, and thus expand more. And if one side of a board expands more than the other, you'll get warp/bow/cupping/etc...

Atleast, that's the jist of it...

Hope this helps,

Gregory