Getting foot in the door.

jj67886

I am making a move from Illinois to Charlotte NC in the next week. I have recently found a great passion in woodworking and have been fully engrossed in this hobby for the past year. I am really considering making a career move to woodworking but am wanting to know if anyone has any advice on making this move. I would really like to find/make a connection with someone already in the area who is willing to work with someone fully willing to learn. If you have any suggestions or ideas of how to get a foot in the door or if you have made a similar career change before I would really love to hear what you have to add. I am 29 years old and feel it is a good time to make the move if it is ever going to happen. I feel I have caught on quickly being completely self taught but know I have so much to learn still and am really wanting some help during this journey. If your interested in checking out some of my recent projects http://josiahwoodworking.blogspot.com/ contains a blog of my work. I know it's just a start but I have truly been bitten by the bug and love every minute of it.

Hi JJ,

The projects look very nice indeed. It can be hard making the move over to making a living from woodworking. Some are lucky and can dictate what they want to make  and clients buy into that. Others and I would assume most of us have to respond to what clients want and even be prepared to do things that perhaps are not so enjoyable. 

I don't know if you have a similar apprentice system in the US to what we have in the UK but I would be trying to look for an established business (joiner, carpenter or cabinet maker) who is looking for a new employee. Spend some time (3 years min) learning the ins an outs then try to build up a client base by working in weekends and evenings.

That's just my view, I'm sure others will give you other useful and contrasting advice. 

• Like 1

Hi JJ!