Pool/Snooker Cues

WelshWood

Hey guys.

In the process of sorting out my workshop from start to finish, (looking to post the project in the relevant forum), I've got a few machines on my mind which are going to be my first investments into the workshop, but I have a question to ask;

I'm a keen Pool and Snooker player, being captain of my local sides and have always wanted to turn out a custom cue (who wouldn't want one?!) Trouble is, I've never done any wood turning before and was looking for some advice on the forums to see if anyone does this kind of work?

I know it's not an easy project to take on but i'm keen too learn ;) 

Any takers?

~WW

I have seen peoples selling nice cue blank on ebay (cocobolo, ebony etc.), you could get some really cool wood for that !

Never checked, but it should be easy to find the metal attachment for them. It doesnt look too hard either. I'm curious also if peoples have ressources for that.

Most cues have fiberglass wrapped over them isnt ?

Those are the kinds of woods I was thinking of using actually, great minds and all that! Will probably end up making a 3 piece cue as that's the current one that I'm using.

As a complete novice to woodturning.. How hard would it actually be to make the taper needed for a pool cue? A Lathe is lower in priority for me at the moment compared to other machines but would like to get a reasonably priced one on a budget. Mainly to be used for this project and small items such as knobs etc etc in the future, any recommendations that aren't to heavily priced?

I don't know about any other pool players, but the last 2 cues I've bought, I've sanded the coating right off them (I feel like it helps glide better through my hand and fingers)

~WW

My turning skills have suffered as a result of going back to school, so I'm just going to offer some general questions for thought.