Claro Walnut Table Top Finish

TomRash

Attached are the two boards that are going to make up the table I am making.  The base is going to be made with cherry.  I am hoping to be done with the woodworking part next week. Then comes the tough part. I have never worked with claro walnut before so I am not sure how I should finish for a durable good looking top. I would prefer something that looks natural and not like plastic.

I have used WATERLOX ORIGINAL SEALER/FINISH for other projects, but I am not sure if I should use it here. What about enduro-var or Arm-r-seal? Should the pores be filled and if so with what?  I have heard doing it by sanding with oil and creating a slurry. Any thoughts would be appreciated.   

post-14723-0-21718300-1383746127_thumb.j

First, wow, stunning lumber!  Love the crotch burl.

Now, when you say "Plastic", do you mean a thick built up finish or a high sheen or both?  I have had people describe both to me as "Too Plasticy" so I don't want to mislead you with my own opinion on what makes wood look plasticy.  Also, just how tough does it need to be?  Durability and repair-ability of the finish are typically an inverse relationship.  So the tougher you want the finish, the more difficult it will be to repair if damage occurs.