North Eastern Connecticut

Ian Gagnon

Hello everyone. 

My name is Ian, and I'm from the N.E. part of CT. 

I have a full time job, and woodworking is my hobby/passion. Many previous generations of my family were craftsmen up to my father who was trained as a machinist but then moved on to management in his 30's and now works in quality control for an aerospace company.

I work as a production engineer (lights, sound, video, rigging, etc) at a Performing Arts Center at a major University. My job allows me a lot of creativity, which very often sparks ideas for projects in my shop. There are a lot of times that things in my shop also help as problem solvers at work. It's a nice symbiotic relationship for me creatively.

My shop is 22' x 15' and resides in the basement of my house. I walled off an area for it with a door to keep the rest of the basement clean. A lot of people don't seem to care for having a shop in a basement because it isn't very easy to get materials in and out, but I am more than happy to live with it. When it is -10 degrees out in the winter, my shop never gets below 52 degrees (and if I used a little space heater, I can have it up to 65 in no time, or I can be cheap and put on warmer clothes), and in the 100+ degree hottest days in summer, the shop never gets over 78 degrees. If my shop was in a garage or outbuilding, I'd have to heat and cool it, or more likely just work in it 6 months out of the year since the heating and cooling bills would break the bank.