Christopher Schwarz review of Stanley 62

Bobby Slack

http://blog.woodworking-magazine.com/blog/New+Stanley+62+Better+But+Not+Yet+Perfect.aspx

Frankly speaking for the price tag difference my preference would be to go with a Lie-Nielsen or Lee Valley (personally I am a Lie Nielsen because of the relationship and I would never say anything bad about Lee Valley).

Also I was told that Lie Nielsen's tools hold their value (I hope I never have to sell them).

Why bother with a tool that still does not get it right?

I understand many Lee Valley fans bring up the new features that they have on the planes, these features worry me because since I suck, to me, less features mean less adjustments and less things to go wrong.

Any thoughts?

Probably it will take Stanley a few more years to get their tools right again.

Still was a decent review and worth looking into one for yourself. I don't buy LN or LV as a hobbyist i cant afford it. I do well with antiques i have to spend time rehabilitating. now with the stanley 62 wouldnt say its a crap plane either still usuable for those of us who ae willing to give it a chance.

Hilarious. If I were at product design at Stanley I'd be muttering something like "coulda mentioned the handle a year ago, Chris. . . ." Still, if a handle doesn't suit a wood worker, shouldn't a wood worker be able to fashion something more to their liking? Another curious thing is, if he doesn't like the handle, and it's like the Veritas handle, wouldn't he grouse about the Veritas BU jack plane? I could be wrong, but I seem to recall that he rather likes the Veritas version of the same plane.