Table top help

Hey all I've been working on this off and on for a few months now and I'm finally at the point of no return on the top. I am though wondering what the proper procedure is for the top. I think that it needs to have supports on the bottom other than the aprons that the legs connect to. I've never built a table like this before and I really don't want to screw it up. Thanks for any thoughts you might have. Just a bit of info on the table. It is 63" square 5/4 walnut and very heavy, that is why I'm concerned about the possibility of sagging in the middle.

post-1152-0-82579400-1291364625_thumb.jp

Hey Scott,

It probably does not really need it, but after all the work that has gone into the table so far and the fact that it would be so simple to add the support now, I think I would do it just for the peace of mind,

How are you going to go about attaching the table top?

Thanks for the thoughts, I tend to agree on doing it now just for the peace of mind. Like you said, way to much invested in it now to in a few months walk in and see my son (4) jumping up and down in the middle and have it split, I really don't think that will happen but why find out the hard way.

To answer your question about attaching the top, I've considered three or four options, 1. to use those little metal clips that you can get a Rockler or Woodcraft that slide in a groove on the apron. 2. Those other little clips that look like figure 8's. 3. Shop made clips out of scrap with a tongue that rides in a groove. And 4. Elongated screw holes.

Not sold on one just yet. Do you have another option / Idea?

If you are interested there are a few more photos of the workings at my blog.

My link

Thanks for the thoughts, I tend to agree on doing it now just for the peace of mind. Like you said, way to much invested in it now to in a few months walk in and see my son (4) jumping up and down in the middle and have it split, I really don't think that will happen but why find out the hard way.