WHAT TYPE OF WOOD IS THIS!!!

tjfreeman

Hello wood people,

I am a designer and fabricator in california and I have a project in which I must match existing specs on a job but, nobody knows what the wood is. Please help. We're not amateurs and this one is stumping us. I am hoping someone out there can look at these pics and say, "you idiot, it is ____wood, dummy". It looks to be decking similar to cumaru, cambara, or angelim but the knots are throwing me off. Somebody come to the rescue!

Thanks,

Tommy Freeman

post-2904-0-80048200-1292265758_thumb.jp

post-2904-0-78867400-1292265882_thumb.jp

I agree with your Ipe assumption. I too have some samples in my office and the swirling grain and slight tinge of rose color seems to be Ipe. I definitely don't think it is Cumaru but then again there is so much variance between localities in South America so it's possible. I have always compared Ipe to a denser, somewhat redder version of Walnut and that is what springs to mind here. I shared with my South American buyer and she agrees that it is Ipe. She spends most of her time down there buying the stuff so I trust her judgement.

Thanks so much for the responses. So far this morning I have had multiple local experts, a distributor in Vancouver BC, and the kind people here on this forum give me some good info. The cumaru I have is simply too red. The Ipe I have looks similar to a lot of the planks in my pictures but the sapwood and knots in the picture seem strange to me. Like RenaissanceWW said, there is a great deal of variance in the specie's range and maybe this accounts for the anomalies. Thanks for taking the time!