New to turning

Andy Faust

Hey I'm new to turning I've turned alittle in my high school shop. But that's been a few years and I never really got good at it. Looking to purchase my own lath I don't have any tools looking at the easy wood tools and thinking of getting a jet lath to turn mostly bowls but able to do table legs. Any suggestions for a beginner would be great thanks 

• 3 months later...

Slightly surprised no one has responded to this.

I'm relatively not to turning myself. However from personal experience, I would say easy wood tools are *so* easy to use. They very little skill needed to get started. I quickly outgrew them and bought for more traditional tools.

As for the lathe, that will depend largely on your budget. Table legs will require a long bed length and with that comes a higher price - unless you're willing to figure out how to join several turned pieces together.

• Like 1

Guest Randy