yet there still few stock in the market, new stanley made in england

walidantar

hello, yesterday i've bought my first ever serious woodworking hand tool, it's my first ever hand plane, i was seeking for something cheep less than 50$ to learn using it and start with but the planes on the market were i'm resident are mostly of the junk stuff - indinan - chinese and so on except those from stanley are somehow of a higher rank in quality and made but most of them are those made in mexico .. because of reviews that tell it needs some preparation specially flatting the sole and  the frog surface and other things which is hard to me as i'm a beginner, i was in hesitate buying a Stanley, i was interested in aximinster rider 5 1/2   but it will cost me about 80$ for shipping and taxes beside it's cost which will sum up about 200$ and at the time i can't afford it so i preferred to get something from the local market to start with and to be cheap, before i had to settle my decision  on the stanley bailey no.4 'mexican' as i couldn't either find no.5 at first i found an old small store that sells tools - it actually was a dealer for stanley some decades ago, i was searching for number 5 and 6 to decide which one and by luck i found he still have some stock 'made in england' from the time he was a dealer as i understood from him .. the count in his stock seams to be very low, he has no.5 for about 74.5&, no.6 for about 101.25$ and no.7 for about as i remember 110.5$, ever he has a plow plane for about 140$ with 18 blades and a manual drill - all made in england, a little  higher in price than those made in mexico but the quality is noticeably to be better ..  the sole look pretty flat out of the box, tomorrow il check it out on a tempered glass desk surface as i don't have any measuring equipment or gauges and the rulers i have are bent. i payed than i've planed but i know about it that old Stanley planes are hopefully better than their new planes made in mexico, those from e