Walnut Butcher Block Island / pure Tung Oil after Mineral Oil

ToddR

This is my first post so hopefully it's not a dumb question!  I'm new to finishing wood, but read for dozens of hours trying to learn.  I purchased a walnut butcher block counter for a kitchen island.  It was hand made in the USA and arrived fully sanded and oiled with a coat of mineral oil (it's the only option given).  I want to eventually use Waterlox however it's winter and need to do it in the kitchen, thus with the smell and cold temperatures make it a better spring/summer project for me.  I chose 100% pure tung oil (NOT tung oil varnish) mixed 50/50 with citrus solvent and started to remove the mineral oil.   I sanded it down, cleaned it with solvent, sanded it again with 180 grit, cleaned it again with a little Dawn, then started the process per instructions.  Everything is fine, except there are 8 to 10 little areas (1 to 4 inch strips)  that feel/look like a different texture than the rest and have a flat grayish tone to them when looking at an angle.  The areas look dry.  I've applied 4 different days worth of the 50/50 mix each day until it pooled over 80% after 40 minutes, wiped it off with a clean dry rag, let it dry for 24 hours, and did the same the next day.  Now, no matter what I do, those spots remain looking the same.  Most are in strips that look darker colored although a few are in mid-range color areas.  I was told to try to wet sand with a 1 to 2 oil/citrus solvent mix and use 600 grit sandpaper in just those areas to work it in.  That didn't work either after 1 try.  Everything looks great, except these smaller duller light gray toned strips.  I'm starting to think somehow the mineral oil wasn't fully removed in those areas.  I read that maybe it's seepage that dried in those spots, but  who knows.  I'm a rookie at this obviously.  I'm not sure what to try next.  Sand all of those spots way down and try to spot fix them from bare wood again?  Just give up and use Waterlox