Newbie here need advice

Spangler1992

Greetings,

I am extrememly new to the hobby of woodworking. I recently inherited all of my grandfathers hand/power tools. He was a woodshop teacer for 30 years. Among the items that I have received are:

All Contractor grade:

Delta 10" platinum edition Table Saw

Delta Drill Press

Delta Scroll Saw

Delta Belt Sander

Several routers, circular saws, misc hand tools

Craftsman Lathe that looks to be about 30 years old in great shape

Numerous types of clamps, and much more.

Unfortunatly my grandfather is in a nursing home and cannot have a good conversation so I cannot ask him these things

Where do I get started? I do not have any of the manuals that come wiht them so not sure how to adjust or tweak anything. I am extremely scared to even turn these items on as to not knowing what I am doing (this can be a good thing as it shows that I have respect for the machinery and that it could hurt you)

If anyone can point me in a good direction whether it be the internet, dvd's, books etc. I would be greatly appreciative. I will be setting up shop in my hoime garage that is 23' x 23'. Am very excited but very lost

First of all let me welcome you to the wood working hobby.

If I were new I would start with these videos and the sections I would watch in order are.

http://thewoodwhisperer.com/category/video/

* Safety

* The Shop

* Tool Setup

* Techniques

* Projects

* Finishing

As far as manuals most if not all manuals can be found online.

Delta - http://www.old-woodworking-tools.net/delta-tool-manuals.html

Craftsman - http://www.old-woodworking-tools.net/craftsman-tool-manuals.html

I am sure if you search the same site for your routers etc they will be there also if not at another source online.