Where to start

Hello all. Extremely new to woodworking and would like to learn fine woodworking, the problem is I am not very good at all. So far I have made a birdhouse and a squirrel feeder. Both to me look aweful (I suffer from perfectionalism). None of my cuts were the same lenght one board would be off a tad from the other one that is supposed to be the same size. All cuts were made on my dewalt 715 I just bought. I am afraid to try anything big like a work bench or bookcase as the wood can get expensive and I am afraid I will mess it up. I have looked for woodworking/carpentry classes in Jacksonville North Carolina as that is where I am stationed but there are none. I have also looked into apprenticeship but no luck as well. So where do I go from here to build my confidence to be able to make something nice eventually? I dont want to get discouraegd by putting out continually crappy products. My tool collection is pretty good as well. Recenly I inherited my grandfathers tools, I.E. table saw, drill press, scroll saw, bandsaw, lathe and various other hand tools both power/normal. What should my next step/project be?

Keep practicing! When making your crosscuts, are you doing them entirely by eye or are you using any sort of stop block? Getting very close by eye is possible, but there is always potential for a variance, such as the pencil line maybe off, or too thick, or whole variety of reasons. The best way to get consistent length cuts is to use a stop block that is clamped to either the saw or bench that you can hold the cut piece against while you are cutting. Also make sure you cut both ends to make sure they are both square.

Also, for those tools, since it sounds like they were all moved take some time to tune them all. This will make sure everything is aligned and square.

I think there are two simple techniques that may solve most of your problems:

1. Relative dimensioning
  2. Creeping up on the fit