Retired Teacher

Gwenn

I have applied 3 coats of Danish Oil, spaced about 6 mo. apart, on a kitchen cart.  Last application was over 1 year ago. 

I would like to apply a finish that will not fade or need retouching. Can I use a poly gel or Minwax stain, and what prep do I need to do beforehand. I have never done a project like this before. 

Thank you for your suggestions. 

Are you planning to stain the project.  As for Danish oil, , you didn't have to wait so long.  A week to 10 days is all you need between coats.  What kind of wood are you working with?   Danish oil may , I say "may" cause you some blotching , should you try and stain over it.  It's better to stain the wood directly,  then apply the Danish oil.  That tends to seal the stain, then you can apply a clear coat of polyurethane a few times, with 400 grit light sanding between coats of poly.    And by the way, welcome to the forum, there's excellent information here and a good group of informed woodworkers.

Thank you Richard A for your reply.
The item in question is a Butcher Block Kitchen Island w/ Drop Leaf by Catskill Craftsmen. It is made from hardwood and came oiled natural wood. The instructions said to use Danish Oil to enhance the finish. I did as instructed, on the cabinet only (not the butcher block top). See picture below. 

Should I lightly sand the cabinet and reapply another coat or two of the Danish Oil. I would like to leave the natural wood color, as it would match my cupboards (hickory) and China hutch (pine with Puritan Pine finish). 

22159D47-EE2C-47F7-B63A-5CADAE8B90E7.jpeg

9291546B-3CBA-42A7-AB03-8FFFEDEA7B7A.jpeg

• Like 1