Blanket Chest

Greetings all!

I am building a blanket chest for a client who wants it to be lined with aromatic cedar. I've attached pics of the dry fit that I did yesterday.

I have never done anything with cedar lining before and I have a few questions:

1) Do you typically line the "floor" of the chest or just the sides?

2) Should an adhesive be used, screws/nails, or should it just be allowed to float?

I am "capturing" the cedar for the sides in a dadoed strip that is going to be screwed to the top and bottom apron of the chest. Since the cedar I got from Home Depot is T&G, I wasn't planning on using any glue or fastener for the sides.

Any help/suggestions is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jeremy

post-4181-0-15311000-1300119534_thumb.jp

I'm not sure if there is any hard and fast rule about lining the bottom of the chest (and I can't really think of any major pros or cons either way). As for attaching the lining, you don't want to attach the cedar permanently. First, the cedar could move seasonally at a different rate than the material you used for the box and cause splitting or cracking if it were glued or nailed to the inside of the chest. Especially since you used frame and panel construction, the cedar will expand and contract quite a bit more the case. Secondly, I like to make the cedar completely removable so that when it eventually loses its aromatic qualities over time, it can be replaced. It sounds like your design of screwing in the cleat will allow for this, and using T&G strips should make it easy for your client to find replacement panels in the future. I think that's a great design and you're on the right path. Your client should be very happy with the work.