Reshaping/Sharpening Saw Teeth

ChrisG

Hey Folks,

This is my first time posting to this forum. I'm somewhat active at another "neanderthal haven" (the one up the creek near the sawmill), but I decided to stop over here for a change.

Anyway, I decided to try my hand at sharpening a couple handsaws this week. I started by doing a light sharpening on a 7ppi rip, which, to my surprise turned out very well. So I thought to myself... "this whole saw sharpening thing isn't all that hard"

The next night I decided to try my hand a 26" 8ppi crosscut saw. I made some guide blocks for both fleam (20 degrees) and rake (15 degrees - relaxed direction). I gave the saw a light jointing, and set about filing.... this did not go was well as hoped. As I filed I began to realize that I couldn't get the flats to disappear evenly from tooth to tooth. The result - a saw that barley cuts (by the way before I messed with it was cutting ok, just a bit rough).

I've chalked this issue up to two things. 1. I think the rake and fleam I put in must have been too different from the previous filing and 2. I'm thinking the saw teeth may not have been properly shaped to begin with.

So my guess is that I now have to do a heavier jointing and reshape the teeth??? I've watched Bob R's saw filing podcast, LNs youtbe videos on the topic, and read everything I can find online about saw filing, but have a few questions.

First, when reshaping teeth, what do I need to be paying attention/looking for to know I'm doing it properly? Am I mainly trying to even out the depth of the gullets and filing a consistent rake? How do you tell when the gullets are even.... do you mark a line... or do you just eyeball it? For the shaping portion does one not worry about the tips of the teeth since they get rejointed after being set anyway?