Shop Zen

parnoldo

I love my garage shop and spending whatever time I can steal there is a kind of Zen experience for me. It's not always just the working of wood, sometimes just hanging out in the shop away from everything is a blessed, needed break from it all. I'm sure many of you know exactly what I'm talking about.

As a photographer by trade I'm always looking for interesting pictures. Last year I was building some cabinets for our home office and went out to the shop early one morning and was struck by the quality light coming in the window onto the crosscut sled. So I did what any self respecting photographer / woodworker would do and grabbed a camera.

Here's a couple of shots from that morning. For me they kind of reflect that sense of when a shop is more than a shop; the dust, the light, the smell of the wood, all that is a part of life that I'm grateful for the opportunity to experience.

post-1464-0-51143500-1302646462_thumb.jp

post-1464-0-57732700-1302646475_thumb.jp

post-1464-0-59835600-1302646486_thumb.jp

post-1464-0-04776200-1302646513_thumb.jp

post-1464-0-32121100-1302646528_thumb.jp

post-1464-0-75103100-1302646539_thumb.jp

post-1464-0-98235400-1302646553_thumb.jp

Beautiful Shots! The woodworking magazines could use a photographer like you. Why do they all have to take such generic boring shots? Woodworking is such a romantic hobby--it would be great if someone documented it as such.

I wish I had fantastic sunlight like that in my shop!

I look forward to seeing more of your work.